Independent and source-linked. Every value cites the FCC grant or maker. Some links earn us a commission; it never changes our data. Not hands-on tested. How we work

GMRS setup guides How to choose a GMRS radio

How to choose a GMRS radio: handheld vs mobile, compared from FCC filings

Start with one question: handheld or vehicle radio? Vehicle (mobile) radios may transmit at up to 50 W, while the handhelds here are filed at 4.49–5 W. After that, four things separate the radios: repeater use, water rating, battery design and programming. The tables show what each radio's documents say, with sources.

Last checked October 21, 2026

Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money

How this guide works: every number comes from an FCC grant (via fccid.io), the FCC rules in 47 CFR Part 95 (eCFR, checked 2026-10-21), or the maker's own page, spec sheet or manual. We haven't tested these radios, so we don't rank them or claim range. Instead, we group them by what their documents show. New to the terms? See our short glossary.

Before you buy: the license and the certification

  • Transmitting on GMRS needs an FCC license. It’s a $35 application fee, a 10-year term, no exam listed in the rules, and it covers your immediate family (how to get one, §95.1705).
  • Buy a radio certified for GMRS. That means an FCC grant under Part 95E, the GMRS rules. All 9 radios below have one, and each FCC ID links to its grant. Radios that can also transmit on ham bands can’t be GMRS-certified (§95.1761(c)). That’s why most dual-band ham handhelds aren’t legal on GMRS (details).

Step 1: handheld or vehicle (mobile) radio?

The rules treat the two differently (§95.1763, §95.1767). “Main” channels are the 16 core GMRS frequencies. “Interstitial” channels sit between them and are shared with FRS (channel terms explained). ERP is the power that leaves the antenna.

HandheldMobile (vehicle)
462 / 467 MHz main channelsNo separate handheld cap in §95.1767(a); the handheld grants in our database show 4.49–5 W ERPTransmitter output up to 50 W (§95.1767(a)(1))
462 MHz interstitial (FRS 1–7)ERP ≤ 5 W (§95.1767(b))ERP ≤ 5 W (§95.1767(b))
467 MHz interstitial (FRS 8–14)ERP ≤ 0.5 W (§95.1767(c))Not allowed. Only hand-held portable units may transmit there (§95.1763(d))
Power sourceBattery pack12 V vehicle supply (13.8 VDC nominal on Midland’s manuals)
What the grants addERP measured with the stock antennaRF-exposure install distances (40–151.8 cm on the grants we read) and sometimes an antenna-gain cap

What this means in practice:

  • A mobile’s extra power and an outside antenna are the documented advantages.
  • A handheld’s advantages are portability and the 467 MHz interstitial channels that FRS radios also use.
  • Range isn’t certified by the FCC, and we haven’t measured it. It depends mostly on antenna height, terrain and repeaters.

Handhelds in our database

RadioFCC-filed power, 462 MHz mainMaker powerWater ratingBattery / powerChargingAntennaList price
Midland GXT67 PRO
FCC MMAGXT67
4.875 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215 W Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21IP67 Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-217.4 V 2500 mAh Li-ion, internal (not user-replaceable) Midland GXT67 owner's manual (dated 9-6-24)checked 2026-10-21USB-C / desktop charger / DC vehicle adapter Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verified$219.99 (maker site) Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (5 Watt)
FCC 2ATSN-RT5WV1
4.487 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 (1 m submersion) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Rechargeable Li-ion 7.4 V 1800 mAh (replaceable) sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C sourcechecked 2026-10-21Removable, SMA-male; 7.5 cm and 17 cm included sourcechecked 2026-10-21$195 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Wouxun KG-935G Plus
FCC WVTWOUXUN26
5 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215.5 W / 2 W / 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP66 sourcechecked 2026-10-21Li-ion 2600 mAh, USB-C charging port sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C (on battery pack) / charger sourcechecked 2026-10-21ANO-039 antenna included (connector type not stated) sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verified
BTECH GMRS-PRO
FCC 2AGND-GMRS-PRO
4.624 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 sourcechecked 2026-10-21BP-26 2600 mAh listed as compatible battery; 7.4 V operating voltage sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C port on the rechargeable battery sourcechecked 2026-10-21Not stated by BTECH. 47 CFR 95.1787(a)(4) requires a non-removable antenna on GMRS handhelds that send digital data, and BTECH lists texting and GPS location sharing sourcechecked 2026-10-21$154.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
BTECH GMRS-V2
FCC 2AGND-GMRS-V2
4.6 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215 W high / 0.5 W low; channels 8–14 low power only sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP54 sourcechecked 2026-10-217.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack (capacity not stated on the product page) sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C (maker: "all USB-C cables"), plus included desktop charger; full charge in 3–4 hours sourcechecked 2026-10-21Removable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21$44.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link

Mobile (vehicle) radios in our database

RadioFCC-filed power, 462 MHz mainMaker powerWater ratingBattery / powerChargingAntennaList price
Midland MXT275 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT275
15 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2115 W Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21None – manual: “It is not waterproof.” Midland MXT275 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a – 13.8 VDC nominal vehicle power Midland MXT275 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a (12 V power cord); USB-C port for charging other devices Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21SO-239 jack; 2.1 dB magnetic-mount antenna (MXTA13) included Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$199.99 (maker site) Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Midland MXT575 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT575
48.87 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W (“Full 50W Radio”) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 VDC nominal vehicle power (user guide) Midland MXT575 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a (12 V power); USB-C port for charging other devices – QC 3.0/2.0 up to 36 W, PD 12 V/9 V/5 V at 3 A Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-212.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount and cable included; radio-side connector type not stated on the product page Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Midland MXT500 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT500
47.863 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W (“Full 50-Watt”) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21IP66 Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a (vehicle power); USB-C port for charging and data Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-212.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount (listed on a bundle option of the maker page); radio-side connector type not stated Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
BTECH GMRS-50X1
FCC 2AGND50X1G
42.56 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W high / 20 W mid / 5 W low; channels 1–7 limited to 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiednot yet verifiednot yet verifiedNo antenna included – “requires an external antenna”; BTECH suggests an NMO-mount antenna (Nagoya NMO-200C). Radio-side connector type not stated on the product page. sourcechecked 2026-10-21$179.89 (maker site, shown reduced from $219.89; listed as legacy model and out of stock) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check stock at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link

The handheld grants list ERP. Most mobile grants list conducted output instead, measured at the antenna jack. That’s the same basis as the 50 W rule. The GMRS-50X1 grant is an exception and lists ERP. Each cell says which one. See methodology for why a maker’s “5 W” and a filed ERP figure aren’t the same measure.

Step 2: will you use repeaters?

A repeater listens on a 467 MHz main channel and retransmits on its paired 462 MHz channel. Handhelds and mobiles may transmit on the 467 MHz main channels only to talk through a repeater, or for brief tests (§95.1763(c)).

  • Every radio above lists repeater support on the maker’s page.
  • Every grant above includes the 467.55–467.725 MHz repeater-input range.

The differences are in how easy it is to load a repeater’s access tones (CTCSS/DCS codes), which Step 5 covers. See repeaters & mobile setup for tones, permission and station ID.

Step 3: water, dust and weather

Water and dust ratings. These are IP ratings claimed by the maker; the FCC doesn’t test them.

NOAA weather: all 9 radios list a NOAA weather feature on the maker’s page. None of those pages confirms SAME county filtering (alerts only for the counties you choose), and none of the 9 models is on the NWS All Hazards logo list (weather radio guide). For a home alarm that wakes you only for your county, NWS points to a logo-approved receiver. Our Midland WR120 vs WR400 comparison checks two of those against the NWS checklist.

Step 4: battery and charging

  • Replaceable pack:
    • Rocky Talkie Expedition: 7.4 V 1800 mAh, “replaceable.”
    • BTECH GMRS-PRO: BP-26 2600 mAh.
    • BTECH GMRS-V2: BL-8, capacity not stated.
    • Wouxun KG-935G Plus: 2600 mAh, with the USB-C port on the pack.
  • Built-in pack: the Midland GXT67 PRO manual lists a 7.4 V 2500 mAh internal battery that isn’t user-replaceable. If you plan multi-day trips without power, that matters more than the capacity figure.
  • USB-C: every handheld here lists USB-C charging. For the GMRS-PRO, several 2022 customer reviews on BTECH’s page report that it won’t charge from USB-C-to-USB-C cables or PD chargers. Those are user reports we haven’t verified. BTECH’s GMRS-V2 page says it charges from “all USB-C cables.”
  • Battery-life claims vary and are unverified. Midland’s own documents give two different figures for the GXT67 PRO (4 days vs 16 hours). We quote them on each radio page; we don’t rank on them.

Step 5: antenna and programming

Antenna. A removable antenna lets you fit a longer or better one later.

  • Removable SMA antenna, documented: the Expedition and the GMRS-V2.
  • Fixed by rule: a handheld that sends texts or GPS data must have a non-removable antenna (§95.1787(a)(4)). That covers the GMRS-PRO.
  • Mobiles: the antenna is separate. Check the connector and the grant’s gain and distance conditions first (antenna guide).

Programming. This matters most when you add repeaters or custom channels. What the makers document:

  • GMRS-V2: CHIRP on a computer, or the keypad’s quick-add menu. 200 memories.
  • GMRS-PRO: BTECH’s phone app over Bluetooth. 180 memories in 6 banks.
  • MXT500: Midland calls it “the only programmable MicroMobile” (PC software).
  • KG-935G Plus: 999-channel memory.
  • GXT67 PRO: up to 49 user-defined channels.

Shortlists by need (documented facts, not rankings)

If you need…Radios whose documents show itSource of the deciding fact
Lowest maker list priceBTECH GMRS-V2, $44.89 (2026-10-21)BTECH product page
Submersible-rated handheldGXT67 PRO, Expedition, GMRS-PRO (IP67)Maker pages and spec sheet
Swappable battery and antennaRocky Talkie Expedition, BTECH GMRS-V2Maker pages
Off-grid texting and GPS sharingBTECH GMRS-PROBTECH page; §95.1787
Full 50 W-class vehicle radioMidland MXT575, MXT500 (48.87 / 47.86 W conducted); GMRS-50X1 is listed as legacy and out of stockFCC grants; BTECH page
Compact 15 W vehicle radioMidland MXT275 (15.0 W conducted)FCC grant

Want two radios side by side?

The full spec table is on radios.

What we haven’t verified

  • Real-world range, audio and battery life for any radio. We have no hands-on units yet.
  • Whether any of the 9 radios supports SAME, and the warranty on several of them. Every cell marked not yet verified above is still open.
  • Prices are maker list prices on 2026-10-21 and change often.

Next: best GMRS radios for hiking and backpacking · Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (FRS) vs Expedition (GMRS) · NOAA weather radios on the NWS list.